Diseases of the gums

The human body is so arranged that the work of some organs directly depends on the health of others. So, the condition of the teeth affects the activity of the gastrointestinal tract. And dental health is associated with the condition of the gums. You can fill in caries, build up a splintering part of the tooth, but the resulting gum disease will still threaten the integrity of the teeth.

The human body is so arranged that the work of some organs directly depends on the health of others. So, the condition of the teeth affects the activity of the gastrointestinal tract. And dental health is associated with the condition of the gums. You can fill in caries, build up a splintering part of the tooth, but the resulting gum disease will still threaten the integrity of the teeth.

Causes of Gum Disease

No matter how corny it sounds, but the main cause of gum disease is careless oral hygiene. Then come:

  • improper brushing of teeth;
  • tartar formation;
  • smoking;
  • bad ecology;
  • lack of vitamins and minerals in foods;
  • unusual food;
  • improper treatment.

At the junction of the gums with tooth enamel, microbes begin to accumulate. The products of their vital activity destroy the tissues of the gums and neck of the tooth. Pockets form under the soft tissues, in which microbes continue to multiply and lead to the destructive activity of microbes. If you do not take measures in time and change your habits, you can get serious diseases of the oral cavity.

Symptoms of Gum Disease

In a healthy state, the gum tissue has a pale pink color, its edge is firmly attached to the teeth, the person does not feel any discomfort. The onset of the disease is indicated by such signs as:

  • blood on the toothbrush when brushing;
  • gingival redness;
  • itching or mild aching pain;
  • the appearance of an indestructible odor from the mouth;
  • the appearance of tangible hard deposits on the teeth;
  • loosening of teeth.

The symptoms are especially pronounced during periods of seasonal decrease in immunity, as well as, for example, against the background of stresses.

Gum disease and treatment

Depending on the degree of neglect and symptoms, gum disease is divided into three categories:

  1. Gingivitis
  2. Periodontitis
  3. Periodontal disease

Gingivitis is a superficial inflammation of the gums. If you deal with it in a timely manner, then nothing will threaten your teeth. The main treatment is aimed at removing tartar accumulated in the gingival pockets of microbes and granules. After that, the doctor makes recommendations for competent oral care and disease prevention.

Periodontitis is a progressive form of the disease, often requiring surgical intervention. The gum acquires an unhealthy red color, is inflamed and swollen, the depth of the pockets increases, the teeth acquire mobility. The first stage of the fight against this disease is also the removal of tartar, germs and formations. Then, antiseptic and firming treatment with effective drugs is performed.

But often the gingival pockets are so deep that cleaning with tools and ultrasound becomes ineffective. A cardinal treatment method is required – a patchwork operation. The gum tissue is excised, all deposits accumulated at the roots of the teeth and on the bone tissue of the gums are removed, the incision is treated with antibacterial drugs. Then the gum is sutured and with proper medical care heals within 1-2 weeks.

There is also a third type of gum disease, called periodontal disease. Periodontal disease is extremely rare, only in 1-8% of patients, and often develops against the background of another pathology, for example, atherosclerosis, diabetes mellitus, impaired gastrointestinal tract function, changes in the body’s reactions, etc. The nutritional disorders of the tissues surrounding the tooth also affect due to atherosclerotic changes in blood vessels.

Unlike periodontitis, with which it is often confused, periodontal disease is not characterized by bleeding and inflammation of the gums, the formation of pockets and tooth mobility. It is a systemic dystrophic disease, most often its main cause is atorophia of the alveolar processes, which leads to uniform lowering of the gums, exposure of the necks of the teeth while maintaining their stability. The patient is concerned about the increased sensitivity of the necks of the teeth, a sensation of itching in the gums. Because periodontal disease develops slowly; patients, as a rule, are in no hurry to consult a doctor.

The treatment is complex, aimed at stabilizing the pathological process. Prescribe drugs that improve blood circulation and regeneration processes in the periodontium (gum massage, gum shower, darsonvalization and other physiotherapeutic procedures), conduct treatment of the underlying disease.

Услуги нашей клиники

Заболевания десен

Человеческий организм так устроен, что работа одних органов напрямую зависит от здоровья других. Так на деятельность ЖКТ влияет состояние зубов. А здоровье зубов связано с состоянием дёсен. Можно запломбировать кариес, нарастить отколовшуюся часть зуба, но появившееся воспаление дёсен по-прежнему будет угрожать целостности зубов.

Причины заболевания десен

Как ни банально это звучит, но основная причина болезней дёсен - небрежная гигиена полости рта. Затем идут:

  • неправильная чистка зубов;
  • образование зубного камня;
  • курение;
  • плохая экология;
  • недостаток витаминов и минералов в продуктах;
  • непривычная пища;
  • неправильное лечение.

В местах соединения дёсен с зубной эмалью начинают скапливаться микробы. Продукты их жизнедеятельности разрушают ткани десны и шейки зуба. Под мягкими тканями образуются карманы, в которых продолжают размножаться и вести разрушительную деятельность микробы. Если своевременно не принять мер и не изменить своих привычек, то можно получить серьёзные заболевания ротовой полости.
Симптомы заболевания десен

В здоровом состоянии ткань дёсен имеет бледно-розовый цвет, её кромка плотно прилегает к зубам, человек не ощущает никакого дискомфорта. О начале заболевания свидетельствуют такие признаки, как:

  • кровь на зубной щётке при чистке;
  • покраснение десневых тканей;
  • зуд или слабая ноющая боль;
  • появление изо рта неистребимого неприятного запаха;
  • появление на зубах ощутимых твёрдых отложений;
  • расшатывание зубов.

Особенно ярко симптомы проявляются в периоды сезонного снижения иммунитета, а также, например, на фоне стрессов.

Болезни десен и их лечение

В зависимости от степени запущенности и симптомов, заболевания десен делятся на три категории:

  1. Гингивит
  2. Пародонтит
  3. Пародонтоз  

Гингивит – это поверхностное воспаление дёсен. Если своевременно заняться его устранением, то зубам ничего не будет угрожать. Основное лечение направлено на удаление зубного камня, скопившихся в десневых карманах микробов и гранул. После этого врач даёт рекомендации по грамотному уходу за полостью рта и профилактике заболевания.

заболевание десенПародонтит – это прогрессирующая форма болезни, нередко требующая хирургического вмешательства. Десна приобретает нездоровый красный цвет, воспалена и отечна, глубина карманов увеличивается, зубы приобретают подвижность. Первым этапом борьбы с этим заболеванием так же является удаление зубного камня, микробов и образований. Затем проводится антисептическое и укрепляющее лечение эффективными препаратами.

Но нередко десневые карманы столь глубоки, что чистка инструментами и ультразвуком становится малоэффективна. Требуется кардинальный способ лечения – лоскутная операция. Ткань дёсен иссекается, все отложения, скопившиеся у корней зубов и на костных тканях десны, удаляются, разрез обрабатывается антибактериальными препаратами. Затем десна зашивается и при правильном медицинском уходе заживает в течение 1-2 недель.

Выделяют и третий вид заболеваний десен, получивший название пародонтоза.
Пародонтоз встречается крайне редко, всего у 1-8% пациентов, и нередко развивается на фоне другой патологии, например, атеросклероза, сахарного диабета, нарушения функции желудочно-кишечного тракта, изменений реакций организма и др. Влияет и нарушение питания тканей, окружающих зуб, из-за атеросклеротических изменения кровеносных сосудов.

В отличие от пародонтита, с которым его нередко путают, для пародонтоза не характерна кровоточивость и воспаление десен, образование карманов и подвижность зубов. Он представляет собой системное дистрофическое заболевание, чаще всего его основной причиной является аторофия альвеолярных отростков, что ведет к равномерному опусканию десны, оголению шеек зубов при сохранении их устойчивости. Пациента беспокоит повышенная чувствительность шеек зубов, ощущение зуда в деснах. Т.к. пародонтоз развивается медленно, больные, как правило, не спешат обращаться к врачу.

Лечение комплексное, направлено на стабилизацию патологического процесса. Назначают средства, улучшающие кровообращение и регенерационные процессы в пародонте (массаж десен, десневой душ, дарсонвализацию и другие физиотерапевтические процедуры), проводят лечение основного заболевания.

После лечения гингвита при правильной гигиене полости рта о случившемся заболевании вскоре можно будет забыть. При пародонтите и пародонтозе необходимо регулярно наведываться в клинику для осуществления профилактических мер и контроля ситуации.

comments powered by Disqus
Интересные факты

Берегите свои зубы

подробнее >